Read Only Memory (ROM) & its types[2020]

ROM stands for Read Only Memory and it is called ROM because only read operation can be performed on it. The user can not write anything into ROM. the binary information stored in ROM is written permanently by the manufacturer and it cannot be altered. The program such as start up or booting instructions which does not need modification are stored in ROM. ROM is necessary to store such software which enables the computer to boot up. ROM is non-volatile memory because it can retain its contents even after the computer is turned off. It is also made semiconductor chips.

Read more here: Computer Mememory

The program stored permanently in ROM is called firmware. Hence, firmware is immediately available when a device is powered on to start up the PC or equipment like Mobile, PDA and others.

Types of Read Only Memory (ROM)


PROM stands for ‘Programmable Read Only Memory‘. Initially it is the blank chip which can be written or programmed only one time by using a special machine called ROM programmer or ROM burner. Once the PROM is written, it cannot be modified and becomes ROM.


 EPROM stands for ‘Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory’. It is a special chip which can be re-programmed to record different information. The data and information are erased by exposing it to intense ultra violet light. EPROM chips are used in product development and experimental projects.


EEPROM stands for ‘Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory’. This type of chip can be erased and reprogrammed repeatedly with special electrical pulses. It does not require a special device to write into it. EEPROM can be reprogrammed without removing it from the computer.

Follow us on: Facebook

Read more about Computer Fundamentals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *